The beginning

This is a new venture for me and I am not sure yet what I want to achieve. It is good to have somewhere to record my thoughts, something I have been doing for many years in a succession of varying sized notebooks, now in varying states of disrepair. A bit like me I suppose, with the passing of years.

It is a Sunday. Yesterday did not really exist for me, recovering as I was from Friday night out on the town. It wasn’t the plan, but then I chose to go with the flow. I got as far as the newsagents.

The stimulus for starting now was really my son (Tim, 19) who said goodbye last night as he and two friends set off for gap year adventures in Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam – names that hold potent memories from when they were in the news throughout the 1970s. He has set up a blog site to keep us updated with his progress. It is naturally a worrying time for parents left behind, but it is an important rite of passage. For me, it was 4 months hitch-hiking around Europe in 1973 – no mobile phones, no internet cafes, only the vagaries of the local postal services.

I feel there is so much to say, so many personal thoughts about my emotional situation, but these can wait. I think I will get in a session at the gym. I seem to spend the time there thinking about what I am going to have for my evening meal. Lemon sole tonight but not sure yet how to prepare it. Fried in butter sounds tempting. Maybe with a creamy sauce. And new potatoes. Can life really be this exciting all the time?

Leave a Reply

