A is for Eagle

More accurately, it should be “a” is for eagle. An item on the radio this morning informed me that our lower case “a” was adopted from the hieroglyphics of the ancient Egyptians, where it symbolized an eagle perching. That was me on a Sunday morning, propped up in bed listening to the radio. It was a sign, a signal beyond FM and DAB, and I responded in kind. It was time to get up. I unfolded my wings and flew out the bedroom window. Getting up on a Sunday morning? No, I was soaring! High above the streets of Kettering, over the fields and villages, over the Nene valley curling far below me, onwards, onwards…

…my breakfast cereal left untouched as I sought another life.

Leave a Reply

