The Dialogue

Today’s Writing 101 challenge – to contrast two things in the form of a dialogue…

“What a day. I can’t wait to get home and pour a lovely glass of red wine.” There was a slight increase in downward pressure from my right foot.

“Sounds great, but aren’t you forgetting something?”

“What do you mean?” I replied, easing off the accelerator a little.

“Tuesday. It’s Tuesday. You said Tuesday was going to be one of your alcohol-free days”

“Yeah, but not when it’s a Tough Day Tuesday like today. There’s always going to be an exception, you know what it’s like.”

“You always said that breaking the rules you set should be a warning sign…”

“I know, I know. But this isn’t about breaking the rules, just making a little change. I won’t drink on Thursday instead” I replied.

“And what if it’s a Tough Day Thursday as well? If every day’s a tough day, there won’t be any alcohol-free days”.

“Hey, that’s not a bad idea! Drinking red wine is such a harmless and pleasurable activity, why shouldn’t I have a glass or two every day? Why deprive myself?”

“Because sometimes the glass turns into a bottle, and you’re wiped out the next day, then you get grumpy with yourself because you don’t get to do the things you planned….”

“Like have another drink? You’re such a pain, always coming up with reasons I can’t enjoy myself, just because the garden is a bit of a mess.” I thought I was on the home straight here, the finishing post in sight and a glass of wine with a rosette to greet me…

“And you always told your clients that the best time not to drink is the time when you most want to drink”.

“Huh, very paradoxical.”

“You know you want me. You imagine my softness,  filling your mouth and slipping slowly down your throat. I am warm, I hug you from the inside, and my fingers reach through your veins and tickle those little pleasure centres which spend too long lying dormant.”

“What was THAT?!”

“Oh, just the wine talking”.

We reached home at last. Was it Good Derek or Bad Derek who got through the front door first?

2 thoughts on “The Dialogue

Leave a Reply

